ISPRS Technical Commission VI Symposium
 Tokyo, Japan, 27 - 30 June 2006

Return to Symposium Page 


The highly integrated multimedia technologies of e-Learning are rapidly changing the style of education. The interest to education is increasing more than ever. Recognizing the importance of combining the latest e-Learning technology with traditional pedagogy, the International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ISPRS) Commission VI on gEducation and Outreachh is organizing an international symposium on gE-LEARNING AND THE NEXT STEPS FOR EDUCATION" jointly with the Japan Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (JSPRS) on June 27-30, 2006 in Tokyo, Japan. 
The objective of the Symposium is to bring researchers, engineers, educators and students from the fields of remote sensing, photogrammetry, and spatial information sciences to share their expertise, knowledge and experiences for optimizing the ways of education in their related fields. 
Each of the five working groups(WG) and one special interest group of the Commission VI will be organizing special session. The educational software contest CATCON4 will be organized during the symposium. Tutorials for students to learn the latest educational software and datasets are also planned.

Terms of Reference

  • Promotion of education and training at fundamental, advanced and professional levels (WG1&3)

  • Promotion of technology transfer, considering regional needs and resources (WG3)

  • Computer-assisted teaching and training, and distance learning iWG1&2j

  • Innovative techniques for information dissemination on the Internet  (WG4)

  • Promotion of student consortium and innovative outreach activities iWG5j

  • Assistance of the Council in promotion of ISPRS activities in the regions iWG3j

  • Quality enhancement of content and format of ISPRS publications and Internet web siteiWG4j

Working Groups   

  • Commission VI President     Kohei Cho 

  • WG VI/1 : Educational Frameworks and Methodologies
        Chair: Henrik Haggren           Co-chairs:
    Alain Duperet,  Anders Boberg

  • WG VI/2 : e-Learning
    Chair: Gerhard Konig,          Co-Chair: Mark Shotis    

  • WG VI/3 : International Cooperation and Capacity Building
    Chair: Xiaoyong Chen,         Co-chair: Sjaak J.J. Beerens  

  •  WG VI/4 :  Internet Resources and Datasets
    Timothy Foresman    Co-chair: Venkatesh Raghavan   

  • WG VI/5 : Promotion of the Profession to Students
    Rahmi Nurhan Celik  Co-chair: Zhu Qing

  • Special Interest Group on Technology Transfer Caravan
    Chair: Armin Gruen,         Co-chair: Shunji Murai


For further information please visit the ISPRS Commission VI web site or contact

Mitsunori Yoshimura
Research Institute for Humanity and Nature
457-4 Motoyama, Kamigamo, Kita-ku, Kyoto 603-8047 Japan
TEL: +81-75-707-2493(2100)    FAX: +81-75-707-2510

Updated: June 9, 2006